The New Groovement - Edmonton Black Dog | Tired of Waiting

This event is expired ( Mar 21, 2018 )

The New Groovement (Victoria BC)
Tired of Waiting Album Tour 2018

The New Groovement is thrilled to announce the release and tour of their new 5 track EP album, 'Tired of Waiting'.
Featuring sultry singing, clever raps, vibrant horns, and the catchy, danceable sound that has become synonymous with The New Groovement, 'Tired of Waiting' is guaranteed to get you moving. To celebrate the release of this project, NGM is bringing the funk takeover to you!

Wed. March 21, 2018
The Black Dog Freehouse, Edmonton AB
Ticket info coming soon



What happens when you mix sweet R&B and sultry soul together with a splash of hip-hop, and then add a generous helping of funk? You get a genre-bending mash-up of the funkiest, hard-groovin’, booty-shaking dance music that is The New Groovement. Eleven members work their collective magic to create the group’s powerhouse sound. At the forefront of the band is the radiant Steph Wisla with her beautifully commanding voice, and Danimal, her ever-clever partner-in-rhyme, spittin’ both playful and poignant rap lyrics. Funky rhythms get you on your feet while the big-band style horn section raises the roof with their jazzy licks and uber groovy dance moves. With the New Groovement it’s not just a band - it’s an experience!

The New Groovement has made their mark on BC’s music scene, having been nominated for Urban Artist of the Year at the Western Canadian Music Awards, winning Album of the Year at the Vancouver Island Music Awards, and opening for acclaimed acts such as Booker T. Jones and Five Alarm Funk. They are found regularly wowing crowds at the region’s biggest festivals and touring Western Canada, and have reached the Top 30 charts of campus and commercial radio stations across Canada (including being selected as The Zone band-of-the-month in Victoria). The band finished their first full-length studio album (The Orange Album) in 2015 with exciting new material to be released in the spring of 2018.

NGM is Reuven Sussman (drums), Tejas Collison (bass), Ben Scotney (guitar), Geoff Mason (timbales/drums), Kim Maddin (congas/percussion), Steph Wisla (lead vocals), Danimal House (vocals/emcee), David Chase (trumpet), Jason Dolynny (trombone), Jonnie Bridgeman (sax), and Brad Justason (sax).

More Event Details
No Minors permitted

Viewed 148 times
Last updated: Never

Is this EVENT no longer running? Does it need updating?

 Help us keep our listings current by  letting us know.